Foothill-De Anza Community College District

To: The Board of Trustees and Residents of the Foothill-De Anza Community College District

The Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee is pleased to present its annual report on the progress of the $490.8 million general obligation Measure C bond initiative for the 2014-2015 fiscal year.

The committee continues to carry out its principal duties of informing the public, ensuring that bond proceeds were spent for the purposes set forth in Measure C, and producing an annual progress report that includes a compliance statement. Responsibilities of the Foothill-De Anza Board of Trustees include prioritizing projects and monitoring spending levels and potential cost overruns of individual projects.

At Foothill College, work began in 2014-15 on the comprehensive renovation of the Foothill College Library and Media Center, scheduled for completion in the coming year. Other projects at Foothill included repairs to the natural gas distribution system and work on replacing the stairs from parking Lot 1 to the back of the Smithwick Theatre. Construction also began on the new Foothill College Sunnyvale Center near the intersection of highways 101 and 237. The education center is on track to open in fall 2016 and will serve as a regional hub for workforce training in new and emerging technologies in the Bay Area.

On the De Anza College campus, projects completed during the year include restoration of the pond and reroofing of the Eco Lab classroom building in the Cheeseman Environmental Study Area. Elsewhere on campus, Buildings S-3, S-4 and L-5 also were re-roofed. Three projects were started – the complete rebuilding of parking Lot E; the complete renovation of the campus library building, the A. Robert De Hart Learning Center; renovation of building L-7’s classrooms and data center. They are scheduled for completion in the coming year.

As for district projects, the former District Office Building on the Foothill campus was renovated for use by Educational Technology Services (ETS) using funds from Measure E, the district’s 1999 bond initiative, and furnished and equipped using Measure C funds. Measure C also is currently funding a new district training room within the renovated ETS Building as well as a new District Office Building, which is being designed for construction on parking Lot 7 at Foothill College.

Bond proceeds have played a significant role in increasing access to updated educational technology at Foothill and De Anza. Measure C has funded Educational Technology Services’ on-going program for refreshing student, faculty and staff computers, including the replacement this year of more than 950 computers and technological upgrades of 20 classrooms. ETS successfully completed an end-to-end upgrade of the district’s data network, improving reliability, capacity, speed and security. A continuing project involves planning for the Measure C-funded replacement of the district’s aging telephone system with a modern Voice over Internet Protocol system.

Measure C funding is an indispensable investment in maintaining both Foothill College and De Anza College campuses as valuable community resources. It enhances educational opportunities and allows for better training and retraining of students for higher paying, higher skilled jobs.

In addition to quarterly meetings with the Foothill-De Anza staff to review Measure C-related activities, the committee relied on the annual independent performance and financial audits conducted by Vavrinek, Trine, Day & Co., LLP, to carry out its duties. The annual performance and financial audits disclosed no instances of non-compliance with the terms of Proposition 39 or Measure C. The committee wishes to report that, to the best of its knowledge, the Foothill-De Anza Community College District is in full compliance with the responsibilities described in Article XIIIA, Section 1(b)(3) of the California State Constitution. A full disclosure of the performance and financial audits can be viewed here.

Very truly yours,

Dudley Andersen,
Citizens’ Bond Oversight Committee Chair