Foothill-De Anza Community College District

Board of Trustees (as of June 30, 2016)

Joan Barram

Betsy Bechtel

Laura Casas

Pearl Cheng

Bruce Swenson

Courtney L. Cooper, Foothill College Student Trustee

Elias Kamal, De Anza Student Trustee


Judy C. Miner

Foothill College

About the District

Located in the heart of Silicon Valley, Foothill-De Anza Community College District serves the communities of Cupertino, Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, Mountain View, Palo Alto, Stanford, Sunnyvale, and portions of Saratoga and San Jose.

For more than 50 years, Foothill-De Anza has demonstrated excellence and innovation in academic programs and student services. As one of the largest community college districts in the United States, Foothill-De Anza provides credit classes for about 62,000 students a year. The colleges are active members of the League for Innovation in the Community College, a national consortium of leading two-year institutions.


The mission of the Foothill-De Anza Community College District is student success. We accomplish this by providing access to a dynamic learning environment that fosters excellence, opportunity, equity, and innovation in meeting the various educational and career goals of our students and communities. The district provides high-quality undergraduate education at an affordable price for students and reasonable cost to the state and maintains the primary mission of advancing California through education, training, and workforce improvement.

For more information please visit the Foothill-De Anza Community College District website